Prefer to talk? Call us on 0800 000 000

Text size

The Point

Orakei, AucklandGenerus LivingRegistered on the Retirement Villages Register

In short

  • No units are listed for sale today.
  • The village keeps 30% of what you paid when you leave. This is its exit fee (deferred management fee).
  • No weekly fee amount is published.
Entry price from
No units listednone for sale today
Exit fee
30%builds over 3 years
Weekly fee
Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating…
When you are repaid
Not published
Registered
Yesno. 2042260
Care on site
Rest home, Hospitalcare beds free now, updated 15 October 2026, 11:59am

What it costs

Entry price

No units listed

Eldernet shows no units for sale here today. Ask the village what comes up and when.

Source: Eldernet listing (the-point)

Exit fee (deferred management fee)

30% of what you paid

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Called the "Village Contribution" (not "deferred management fee" in their own wording, but functions identically). Confirmed identically on two separate village FAQ pages (Holly Lea Village and Pacific Coast Village, both Generus Living): "6.0% in the first year and 12.0% in years two and three on the Entry Payment amount," capping at a maximum of 30% after more than three years of residency, with "no further accumulation" after that point.

How it builds

Accrues on the Entry Payment amount, not on any later sale/resale price: 6% in year 1 + 12% in year 2 + 12% in year 3 = 30% cumulative cap reached at the 3-year mark; nothing further accrues after three years of residency.

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Accrues on the Entry Payment amount, not on any later sale/resale price: 6% in year 1 + 12% in year 2 + 12% in year 3 = 30% cumulative cap reached at the 3-year mark; nothing further accrues after three years of residency. (Confirmed identically on Holly Lea Village and Pacific Coast Village FAQ pages.)

Weekly fee

Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating costs, rates, insurance, maintenance, facilities) and separate "Service Fees" for optional extras (e.g. meals, cleaching).

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating costs, rates, insurance, maintenance, facilities) and separate "Service Fees" for optional extras (e.g. meals, cleaching). No specific dollar amount for either is published on any page fetched, not published. The Village Tariff is NOT fixed/frozen, but its increases are capped: quoted verbatim, "the full village tariff will never increase by more than the consumers price index and increases will only occur on an annual basis." Service Fees vary by services used and no cap was stated for them.

Capital gain (a rise in the unit's value)

Not published

Not stated explicitly as "the operator keeps capital gains" on any page fetched.

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Not stated explicitly as "the operator keeps capital gains" on any page fetched. What is stated verbatim (identically on Holly Lea and Pacific Coast Village FAQs): the Entry Payment "is refunded to you or your estate, less the Village Contribution, when you leave the Village, regardless of whether the value of the home has increased or decreased." This means the resident's payout is fixed to their original entry payment minus the exit fee, with no share of any increase in value, but no page fetched used the words "capital gain" or named who retains it, so the "who keeps it" attribution beyond this mechanism is not published.

When you are repaid

Not published

No page fetched (homepages or FAQ pages of Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point / Pacific Lakes Village homepages, or the main generusliving.co.nz site) stated a number of days/weeks/months after departure within…

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Not published. No page fetched (homepages or FAQ pages of Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point / Pacific Lakes Village homepages, or the main generusliving.co.nz site) stated a number of days/weeks/months after departure within which the refund is paid.

Other costs

Entry prices: not published on any page fetched (no price list or price range for units found on Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point/Mission Bay, or Pacific Lakes Village sites).

Source: generusliving.co.nz

Full research note

Entry prices: not published on any page fetched (no price list or price range for units found on Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point/Mission Bay, or Pacific Lakes Village sites). Service Fees (optional services like meals/cleaning): variable, amount not published. A "Code of Practice" document is referenced as being provided "when you complete an Application for an Occupation Right Agreement" (Pacific Coast Village FAQ) but no link/content was fetched. Only document links actually found on the FAQ pages were Complaints Policy PDFs (Holly Lea: /asset/928.pdf; Pacific Coast Village: /asset/259.pdf), not fee-related. No disclosure statement PDF was located on any page fetched.

Disclosure statement (the village's summary of the deal)

Not published online. The law says the village must give you one before you sign an occupation right agreement (the contract that lets you live there), and it sets out every fee. Ask for it early.

What would you get back?

$420,000 backExit fee 30.0% = $180,000 kept by Generus Living after 5 years. Weekly fees are extra.

The exit fee builds over 3 years to 30%. The calculator spreads it evenly over those years; the exact schedule is in the fee notes above. Before weekly fees and any other charges.

Units for sale on Eldernet

None listed on Eldernet on 15 and 16 October 2026.

Registered village

Registered as The Point Mission Bay

Registration number
2042260
Registered since
2007
Statutory supervisor
Covenant Trustee Services Limitedappointed 30 October 2007
Previous names
Eastcliffe on Orakei

Its previous name on the register, Eastcliffe on Orakei, places it in Orakei, where Eldernet lists The Point.

A statutory supervisor is an independent party, licensed by the Financial Markets Authority, that holds residents' deposits and watches the village's finances (Retirement Commission).

Source: this village's entry on the Retirement Villages Register, read 15 October 2026.

About the village

The Point Mission Bay will provide a totally fresh perspective on what a great retirement can be all about. From its unbeatable Auckland location to its layout and design philosophy to the extraordinary blend of facilities, shared spaces and easy access to the city, The Point will ensure you are going to be way more focused on the lifestyle you can lead than simply sitting out your retirement years. Our sales suite is now open by appointment to view the plans for these new apartments. Register your interest in The Point Mission Bay by contacting Bev Dyson on 09 905 6488.

In the village's own words, from its Eldernet listing.

Care homes nearby

Where this comes from

Address
217 Kupe Street, Orakei, Auckland
Operator
Generus Living

Confidence: Medium.

These terms are Generus Living's published policy for its villages. Individual agreements can differ, so check this village's disclosure statement.

Research note

Owner: Generus Living. The site redirects (301) from the-point.co.nz to thepointmissionbay.co.nz, which is a minimal landing page, its full sitemap contains only 4 URLs (home, /enquire, /privacy-policy, /terms-conditions), with no fees/pricing/FAQ/disclosure pages. Its Eldernet listing also has no pricing or document links, directing enquiries to Sales Manager Bev Dyson by phone. As with The Foundation, attempted to check Generus Living's corporate site for a centralised disclosure statement but it returned an expired SSL certificate error and could not be fetched.

Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.