Avonlea Rest Home and Hospital
TaumarunuiAvonlea Charitable TrustRegistered on the Retirement Villages Register
In short
- No units are listed for sale today.
- The village keeps 30% of what you paid when you leave. This is its exit fee (deferred management fee).
- Weekly fee not published.
- Entry price from
- No units listednone for sale today
- Exit fee
- 30%builds over 3 years
- Weekly fee
- Not published
- When you are repaid
- Not published
- Registered
- Yesno. 2752296
- Care on site
- Rest home, Hospitalcare beds free now, updated 15 October 2026, 4:22pm
What it costs
Entry price
No units listed
Eldernet shows no units for sale here today. Ask the village what comes up and when.
Prices seen on the village's own site: "Each villa is priced at $420,000" (avonlea.nz/avonlea-villas) (source: avonlea.nz)
Exit fee (deferred management fee)
30% of what you paid
Source: avonlea.nz
How it builds
Accrues at 10% per annum over three years (per avonlea.nz/avonlea-villas)
Source: avonlea.nz
Weekly fee
Not published
Page states "Village Fees and villa insurance payments are paid fortnightly" but gives no dollar amount
Source: avonlea.nz
Capital gain (a rise in the unit's value)
Resident receives "50% of the capital gain (after deducting refurbishment costs, if any)" on resale, per avonlea.nz/avonlea-villas. The page does not state who receives the remaining 50% (not published).
Source: avonlea.nz
Full research note
Resident receives "50% of the capital gain (after deducting refurbishment costs, if any)" on resale, per avonlea.nz/avonlea-villas. The page does not state who receives the remaining 50% (not published).
When you are repaid
Not published
Page states resident receives original purchase price minus management fee owing plus capital-gain share, but does not state how long after leaving this is paid
Source: avonlea.nz
Disclosure statement (the village's summary of the deal)
Not published online. The law says the village must give you one before you sign an occupation right agreement (the contract that lets you live there), and it sets out every fee. Ask for it early.
What would you get back?
The exit fee builds over 3 years to 30%. The calculator spreads it evenly over those years; the exact schedule is in the fee notes above. Before weekly fees and any other charges.
Units for sale on Eldernet
None listed on Eldernet on 15 and 16 October 2026.
Registered village
Registered as Avonlea Villas
- Registration number
- 2752296
- Registered since
- 2023
- Statutory supervisor
- Covenant Trustee Services Limitedappointed 23 May 2023
- Previous names
- Avonlea Retirement Village
The name on the register differs a little from the village's own, so check this number with the operator.
A statutory supervisor is an independent party, licensed by the Financial Markets Authority, that holds residents' deposits and watches the village's finances (Retirement Commission).
Source: this village's entry on the Retirement Villages Register, read 15 October 2026.
Care homes nearby
- Avonlea Rest Home and Hospital on site or next door · rest home, hospital
Where this comes from
- Address
- 52 Ward Street, Taumarunui
- Operator
- Avonlea Charitable Trust
- Phone
- (07) 896 8131
- Website
- avonlea.nz
- Source: Eldernet listing (avonlea-rest-home-and-hospital), read 15 and 16 October 2026 (listing, care levels, units for sale)
- Source: avonlea.nz, read 15 and 16 October 2026
- Source: Retirement Villages Register entry, read 15 October 2026 (registration and statutory supervisor)
Confidence: Medium. DMF, accrual rate, capital-gain split and entry price are directly quoted from the operator's own villas page
Research note
Operates under an Occupation Right Agreement per the Retirement Villages Act 2003 (stated on site). This was the most financially detailed of the 8 villages checked, but weekly fee amount and refund timing were not stated anywhere fetched.
Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
