Text size

Bishop Selwyn

Addington, ChristchurchIndependentRegistered on the Retirement Villages Register

In short

  • Entry prices from $279,000 (3 units for sale now).
  • The exit fee (deferred management fee), what the village keeps when you leave, is not published.
  • Weekly fee not published.
Entry price from
$279,000lowest of 3 units for sale now
Exit fee
Not publishedask for the disclosure statement
Weekly fee
Not published
When you are repaid
Not published
Registered
Yesno. 2095728
Care on site
Rest home, Hospitalcare beds free now, updated 15 October 2026, 8:30am

What it costs

Entry price

$279,000 to $550,000

For the 3 units for sale now on Eldernet. This is not a price for every unit in the village.

Prices seen on the village's own site: From Studio Apartment $279,000; Two Bedroom Villa $550,000; One Bedroom Villa, waitlist, no price shown. (source: alden.co.nz/home/bishop-selwyn)

Source: Eldernet listing (bishop-selwyn)

Exit fee (deferred management fee)

Not published

Brochure states: "The Village Contribution fee is calculated as a percentage of your purchase price over a number of years of occupancy but is limited to a specified percentage of the purchase price.

We are asking this village for its disclosure statement, and will add the fee when it arrives.

Source: alden.co.nz/home/bishop-selwyn

Full research note

not published, brochure states: "The Village Contribution fee is calculated as a percentage of your purchase price over a number of years of occupancy but is limited to a specified percentage of the purchase price. This amount is specified in your ORA and your solicitor is required to explain this to you before you sign the ORA." The actual percentage is deliberately withheld from the public brochure and reserved for the individual contract.

Weekly fee

Not published

Brochure says a 'weekly contribution fee' and 'weekly costs will vary depending on what level of support service if any you choose'; no amount stated

Source: alden.co.nz/home/bishop-selwyn

Capital gain (a rise in the unit's value)

Not published

Not stated explicitly, but the brochure says: "Once the unit is sold, you or your estate will be paid back your original investment minus the Village contribution", i.e. the resident/estate receives back the ORIGINAL purchase…

Source: alden.co.nz/home/bishop-selwyn

Full research note

Not stated explicitly, but the brochure says: "Once the unit is sold, you or your estate will be paid back your original investment minus the Village contribution", i.e. the resident/estate receives back the ORIGINAL purchase price less the DMF, not a share of the resale price, which implies the village retains any uplift on resale, though the brochure never uses the phrase 'capital gain'.

When you are repaid

Not published

No number of days/weeks after departure is stated anywhere in the fetched pages or brochure

Source: alden.co.nz/home/bishop-selwyn

Disclosure statement (the village's summary of the deal)

Not published online. The law says the village must give you one before you sign an occupation right agreement (the contract that lets you live there), and it sets out every fee. Ask for it early.

What would you get back?

We cannot sayThis village has not published its exit fee.

For comparison only, the calculator shows what you would get back at 25% and 30%, the most common exit fees among villages we have checked. They are not this village's fees. Before weekly fees and any other charges.

Units for sale on Eldernet (3)

As listed on Eldernet on 15 and 16 October 2026. Prices are what the village is asking, before any exit fee.

HomeTypeBedroomsBathroomsFloor areaPriceListing
StudioStudio1130 m²from $279,000Eldernet
One Bedroom Villa | WaitlistVilla1160 m²from $425,000Eldernet
Two Bedroom VillaVilla2185 m²from $550,000Eldernet

Registered village

Registered as Bishop Selwyn Village

Registration number
2095728
Registered since
2008
Statutory supervisor
Covenant Trustee Services Limitedappointed 11 February 2008
Previous names
Ultimate Care Bishop Selwyn Village
Bishop Selwyn Retirement Village
Bishop Selwyn Lifecare Centre

The name on the register differs a little from the village's own, so check this number with the operator.

A statutory supervisor is an independent party, licensed by the Financial Markets Authority, that holds residents' deposits and watches the village's finances (Retirement Commission).

Source: this village's entry on the Retirement Villages Register, read 15 October 2026.

About the village

Bishop Selwyn Village has been part of the Spreydon neighbourhood for over 25 years and has built a strong reputation amongst our community. We offer residents the freedom of independent living. Just around the corner from us is our sister village Rose Court with who we enjoy a close connection with, there is a genuine sense of belonging with our communities being well integrated. Our village offers a mixture of affordable independent one and two bedroom villas and studios. Villas enjoy bright open plan living, dining area, spacious bedrooms with a modern bathroom and kitchen. These all have the ability to choose a support service if and when you may require assistance. We are proud of our comprehensive activities programme which caters for our range of residents with weekly outings and shopping trips organised. You are also welcome to join in other entertainment provided in the rest home. Residents, family and friends are encouraged to enjoy our tranquil garden setting, where we have our bird aviary and many restful areas to use.

In the village's own words, from its Eldernet listing.

Care homes nearby

Where this comes from

Address
350 Selwyn St, Addington, Christchurch
Operator
Independent

Confidence: Medium to high. On mechanism language (directly quoted from the brochure); low on any actual number since none is published

Research note

Most process detail of the eight villages: $5,000 refundable deposit held by the Statutory Supervisor, 15-working-day cooling-off period, Statutory Supervisor = Covenant Trustee Services. All exact fee numbers are consistently withheld from public pages and reserved for the individual ORA/Disclosure Statement, which Claude could not access.

Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.