The Russley Village
Burnside, ChristchurchGenerus LivingRegistered on the Retirement Villages Register
In short
- Entry prices from $1,050,000 (6 units for sale now).
- The village keeps 30% of what you paid when you leave. This is its exit fee (deferred management fee).
- No weekly fee amount is published.
- Entry price from
- $1,050,000lowest of 6 units for sale now
- Exit fee
- 30%builds over 3 years
- Weekly fee
- Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating…
- When you are repaid
- Not published
- Registered
- Yesno. 2151438
- Care on site
- Rest home, Hospital
What it costs
Entry price
$1,050,000 to $1,225,000
For the 6 units for sale now on Eldernet. This is not a price for every unit in the village.
Exit fee (deferred management fee)
30% of what you paid
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Called the "Village Contribution" (not "deferred management fee" in their own wording, but functions identically). Confirmed identically on two separate village FAQ pages (Holly Lea Village and Pacific Coast Village, both Generus Living): "6.0% in the first year and 12.0% in years two and three on the Entry Payment amount," capping at a maximum of 30% after more than three years of residency, with "no further accumulation" after that point.
How it builds
Accrues on the Entry Payment amount, not on any later sale/resale price: 6% in year 1 + 12% in year 2 + 12% in year 3 = 30% cumulative cap reached at the 3-year mark; nothing further accrues after three years of residency.
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Accrues on the Entry Payment amount, not on any later sale/resale price: 6% in year 1 + 12% in year 2 + 12% in year 3 = 30% cumulative cap reached at the 3-year mark; nothing further accrues after three years of residency. (Confirmed identically on Holly Lea Village and Pacific Coast Village FAQ pages.)
Weekly fee
Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating costs, rates, insurance, maintenance, facilities) and separate "Service Fees" for optional extras (e.g. meals, cleaching).
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Two components, per both confirmed village FAQ pages: a "Village Tariff" (covers operating costs, rates, insurance, maintenance, facilities) and separate "Service Fees" for optional extras (e.g. meals, cleaching). No specific dollar amount for either is published on any page fetched, not published. The Village Tariff is NOT fixed/frozen, but its increases are capped: quoted verbatim, "the full village tariff will never increase by more than the consumers price index and increases will only occur on an annual basis." Service Fees vary by services used and no cap was stated for them.
Capital gain (a rise in the unit's value)
Not published
Not stated explicitly as "the operator keeps capital gains" on any page fetched.
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Not stated explicitly as "the operator keeps capital gains" on any page fetched. What is stated verbatim (identically on Holly Lea and Pacific Coast Village FAQs): the Entry Payment "is refunded to you or your estate, less the Village Contribution, when you leave the Village, regardless of whether the value of the home has increased or decreased." This means the resident's payout is fixed to their original entry payment minus the exit fee, with no share of any increase in value, but no page fetched used the words "capital gain" or named who retains it, so the "who keeps it" attribution beyond this mechanism is not published.
When you are repaid
Not published
No page fetched (homepages or FAQ pages of Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point / Pacific Lakes Village homepages, or the main generusliving.co.nz site) stated a number of days/weeks/months after departure within…
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Not published. No page fetched (homepages or FAQ pages of Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point / Pacific Lakes Village homepages, or the main generusliving.co.nz site) stated a number of days/weeks/months after departure within which the refund is paid.
Other costs
Entry prices: not published on any page fetched (no price list or price range for units found on Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point/Mission Bay, or Pacific Lakes Village sites).
Source: generusliving.co.nz
Full research note
Entry prices: not published on any page fetched (no price list or price range for units found on Pacific Coast Village, Holly Lea Village, The Point/Mission Bay, or Pacific Lakes Village sites). Service Fees (optional services like meals/cleaning): variable, amount not published. A "Code of Practice" document is referenced as being provided "when you complete an Application for an Occupation Right Agreement" (Pacific Coast Village FAQ) but no link/content was fetched. Only document links actually found on the FAQ pages were Complaints Policy PDFs (Holly Lea: /asset/928.pdf; Pacific Coast Village: /asset/259.pdf), not fee-related. No disclosure statement PDF was located on any page fetched.
Disclosure statement (the village's summary of the deal)
Not published online. The law says the village must give you one before you sign an occupation right agreement (the contract that lets you live there), and it sets out every fee. Ask for it early.
What would you get back?
The exit fee builds over 3 years to 30%. The calculator spreads it evenly over those years; the exact schedule is in the fee notes above. Before weekly fees and any other charges.
Units for sale on Eldernet (6)
As listed on Eldernet on 15 and 16 October 2026. Prices are what the village is asking, before any exit fee.
| Home | Type | Bedrooms | Bathrooms | Floor area | Price | Listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Views galore | Serviced Apartment | 2 | 2 | 95 m² | $1,050,000 | Eldernet |
| Spacious Two Bedroom Luxury Apartment | Apartment | 2 | 2 | 127 m² | from $1,140,000 | Eldernet |
| Ground Floor Prime Position two Bedroom Apartment | Apartment | 2 | 2 | 95 m² | from $1,175,000 | Eldernet |
| Stunning Views in this luxury two bedroom apartment | Serviced Apartment | 2 | 1 | 98 m² | from $1,195,000 | Eldernet |
| Delightful Villa | Villa | 2 | 1.5 | 123 m² | $1,200,000 | Eldernet |
| Two Bedroom Villa | Villa | 2 | 1.5 | 133 m² | from $1,225,000 | Eldernet |
Registered village
Registered as The Russley Village
- Registration number
- 2151438
- Registered since
- 2008
- Statutory supervisor
- Covenant Trustee Services Limitedappointed 30 June 2008
A statutory supervisor is an independent party, licensed by the Financial Markets Authority, that holds residents' deposits and watches the village's finances (Retirement Commission).
Source: this village's entry on the Retirement Villages Register, read 15 October 2026.
Care homes nearby
- The Russley Village on site or next door · rest home, hospital
- Summerset at Avonhead 1.4 km away · rest home, hospital, dementia
- Elms Court Life Care 2.2 km away · rest home, hospital
- Bupa Bethesda Care Home 2.5 km away · rest home, hospital, dementia
- Elmswood Retirement Village (Hospital) 2.9 km away · hospital
Where this comes from
- Address
- 73 Roydvale Avenue, Burnside, Christchurch
- Operator
- Generus Living
- Phone
- (03) 357 9392
- Website
- russleyvillage.co.nz
- Source: Eldernet listing (the-russley-village), read 15 and 16 October 2026 (listing, care levels, units for sale)
- Source: generusliving.co.nz, read 15 and 16 October 2026
- Source: Retirement Villages Register entry, read 15 October 2026 (registration and statutory supervisor)
Confidence: Medium.
These terms are Generus Living's published policy for its villages. Individual agreements can differ, so check this village's disclosure statement.
Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
