Text size

Wensley House

RichmondExperioncareRegistered on the Retirement Villages Register

In short

  • Entry prices from $190,000 (1 unit for sale now).
  • The village keeps 28% of what you paid when you leave. This is its exit fee (deferred management fee).
  • No weekly fee amount is published.
Entry price from
$190,000the only unit for sale now
Exit fee
28%builds over 2 years
Weekly fee
Village Outgoings Fee, paid weekly or fortnightly; the amount is set per unit (not disclosed as…
When you are repaid
Not a fixed number of days after departure, the operator 'is not obliged to repay the Exit…
Registered
Yesno. 1986925
Care on site
Rest homecare beds free now, updated 15 October 2026, 10:03am

What it costs

Entry price

$190,000

For the 1 unit for sale now on Eldernet. This is not a price for every unit in the village.

Prices seen on the village's own site: The disclosure statement itself leaves the Entry Payment as an unfilled, resident/unit-specific template field (e.g. 'RVPROPERTYCAPITALSUM1'), so no generic figure is published in that document. Separately, the experioncare.co.nz website advertised studio apartments 'From $190,000.' (source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-)

Source: Eldernet listing (experioncare)

Exit fee (deferred management fee)

28% of what you paid

A 24% village contribution that builds over two years, plus a flat 4% administration fee when you leave.

Source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-

Full research note

Maximum 24% of the Entry Payment as the 'Village Contribution Fee', PLUS a separate flat 4% 'Administration Fee' on termination, combined maximum deduction of 28% of the Entry Payment (per the worked example in the disclosure statement's Schedule E).

How it builds

Village Contribution Fee accrues 8% of the Entry Payment on the Commencement Date, plus a further 8% for each completed 12-month period, up to a stated maximum of 24% reached at 2 years of occupancy; pro-rated daily if…

Source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-

Full research note

Village Contribution Fee accrues 8% of the Entry Payment on the Commencement Date, plus a further 8% for each completed 12-month period, up to a stated maximum of 24% reached at 2 years of occupancy; pro-rated daily if termination occurs within the first 2 years. The 4% Administration Fee is a flat charge on termination regardless of length of stay. Note: the disclosure statement's own Schedule E worked example also shows the combined deduction rising to 29% by the 10-year anniversary, which is inconsistent with the document's stated 24% cap on the Village Contribution Fee, flagging this internal inconsistency rather than resolving it, since both figures come directly from the same official document.

Weekly fee

Village Outgoings Fee, paid weekly or fortnightly; the amount is set per unit (not disclosed as a single village-wide figure in this generic disclosure statement) and is explicitly NOT fixed, the document states it 'may be varied…

Source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-

Full research note

Village Outgoings Fee, paid weekly or fortnightly; the amount is set per unit (not disclosed as a single village-wide figure in this generic disclosure statement) and is explicitly NOT fixed, the document states it 'may be varied by the Operator from time to time' subject to prior consultation with the Statutory Supervisor. A separate, also-variable Care Services Fee applies depending on the resident's selected care option.

Capital gain (a rise in the unit's value)

Explicitly addressed in the disclosure statement (clause 12.4): 'the former resident is not exposed to any capital gain nor to any capital loss arising out of the termination of the Occupation Right Agreement.' The Exit Payment…

Source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-

Full research note

Explicitly addressed in the disclosure statement (clause 12.4): 'the former resident is not exposed to any capital gain nor to any capital loss arising out of the termination of the Occupation Right Agreement.' The Exit Payment is fixed relative to the original Entry Payment (less fees) and is NOT increased even if the operator resells the unit for more (clause 12.7: 'No entitlement to sum paid by new resident'). In effect, the operator retains any capital gain.

When you are repaid

Not a fixed number of days after departure, the operator 'is not obliged to repay the Exit Payment to the Resident until a day within five Working Days following the date on which the Operator settles the issue of a new…

Source: experioncare.co.nz/images/Disclosure-statement-

Full research note

Not a fixed number of days after departure, the operator 'is not obliged to repay the Exit Payment to the Resident until a day within five Working Days following the date on which the Operator settles the issue of a new Occupation Right Agreement for the vacated unit and receives the new Entry Payment' (i.e. payment is contingent on finding a new resident). If the operator instead chooses to buy back the unit itself, it must pay the Exit Payment within 20 Working Days of that agreement.

Disclosure statement (the village's summary of the deal)

What would you get back?

$136,800 backExit fee 28.0% = $53,200 kept by Experioncare after 5 years. Weekly fees are extra.

The exit fee builds over 2 years to 28%. The calculator spreads it evenly over those years; the exact schedule is in the fee notes above. Before weekly fees and any other charges.

Units for sale on Eldernet (1)

As listed on Eldernet on 15 and 16 October 2026. Prices are what the village is asking, before any exit fee.

HomeTypeBedroomsBathroomsFloor areaPriceListing
Retirement Village (Studios For Sale)Studio11Not listedfrom $190,000Eldernet

Registered village

Registered as Wensley House

Registration number
1986925
Registered since
2007
Statutory supervisor
Anchorage Trustee Services Limitedappointed 9 October 2017

A statutory supervisor is an independent party, licensed by the Financial Markets Authority, that holds residents' deposits and watches the village's finances (Retirement Commission).

Source: this village's entry on the Retirement Villages Register, read 15 October 2026.

About the village

Property Type: Studio Apartment Embrace a Vibrant Retirement Lifestyle at Wensley House

In the village's own words, from its Eldernet listing.

Care homes nearby

Where this comes from

Address
49 Wensley Road, Richmond
Operator
Experioncare

Confidence: High.

Research note

Full official Retirement Villages Act 2003 disclosure statement read directly (DS version July 2023, dated 1 July 2023). Registration number 1986925, registered 22 Aug 2007. Operator: Experion Holdings Wensley Limited. Statutory Supervisor: Anchorage Trustee Services Limited. Village comprises 10 studio units and 3 apartments (8 studios + 3 apartments occupied, 2 studios vacant at time of document). This is the strongest-sourced result in the batch.

Spotted something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.